• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Which kind of snake

DreaminR6

I am pretty new to snakes, and I was wondering what I should get. I have narrowed it down to either a cornsnake, or a milksnake. Here's some info. I have a 20-gallon tank already, and don't want to have to buy a different one, at least for a little while. Will want to handle it at least once a day, so a well mannered snake would be best. Thanks.

Adding to that, milksnakes are a little more "flighty," although no hatchling is going to "enjoy" being handled. Milks are just less calm in general, although black milks are an exception, they are WAY too big for a 20 gallon in no time!

I kept going back and forth between these two snakes for several months last year and early this year before I decided on a corn. I'll tell you why I chose what I did. I won't bother going over why corns are good (this is a corn snake forum, just look around and you'll find thousands of examples why). Milks are good too, but when I sat right down and made a list of good/bad things of each species, the milks had more negatives than the corns.