PDA

View Full Version : Shedding and when to feed?

Shedding and when to feed?

eric.owen
06-29-2010, 07:45 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a noob when it comes to corns so I'm asking questions about every little thing. I just want to make sure he's okay. :)

My corn is a baby, about 10 inches long or so. I brought him home on Saturday. I wasn't sure when he had eaten last, but the day I brought him home he pooped, so I figured he had eaten about 2 days or so prior to that. I tried to feed him yesterday and he wouldn't eat. When I got him on Saturday his eyes were slightly cloudy so I thought he was about to shed. I got him home and into his new habitat and the cloudy eyes went away. Well, I woke up this morning to find that he has shed during the night - completely in one piece. No cracks or broken pieces or anything. I'm thinking that's great!

So my questions are: 1) Is it normal or okay for him to shed without showing signs of shedding? And 2) When should I try to feed him again, and since he shed is that maybe why he wouldn't eat yesterday? Thanks to everyone for their help!!

GothPixel
06-29-2010, 08:11 AM
The cloudy eyes are a sign of shedding, but they clear up a day or two before the actual shed. You might have noticed your snake's colors are brighter after the shed than they were right before it.

It's normal for a snake not to eat while they are in shed. Some will eat right after they shed, some like to wait a day. If you want minimal chance of the food being rejected, wait a day from the shedding, then feed.

And welcome to the club!

Caryl
06-29-2010, 09:36 AM
Congratulations on your new baby, and on a good first shed!