PDA

View Full Version : hacthling care

hacthling care

DirtySanchez
06-12-2002, 08:26 PM
I was wondering how long will it take my eggs to incubate and hatch. The incubator i built is a 10 gallon aquarium with the aquarum heater set around 80 degrees. Also I was wondering the best way to take care of the hatchlings? Can they go in with the parents, can i put them in a 10 gallon aquarium? I would like to hear any ideas I am kinda new to the how breeding, hatchlings. Thanks for your input

CornsnakeKeeper
06-12-2002, 08:41 PM
The eggs should incubate for approx. 62 days but it can take longer or they could hatch sooner depending on temp. changes.

It is reccommended that they are each kept in deli cups seperately with water as they may try to eat each other before they learn that they are supposed to eat mice.

You could keep them together. Just monitor them closely and feed seperately, but don't keep them together for too long.

Monitor the temps. in your incubator very well. Those aren't the safest kind of incubators to use.

Jr Nimeskern
06-13-2002, 09:15 PM
Next year is when Im going to start breeding my corns... what kind of incubator should I use? and any little tid bits of hints that could help me would be helpful... thanks

Katie
06-14-2002, 07:27 AM
I've heard that there is an incubator called a Hoovabator or somthing like that. It's apparently pretty good for small ammounts of eggs (one or two clutches). If you have many many eggs, you'll have to look into building something yourself I think. I've seen 2 home made incubators out of bar fridges and they worked great. A really huge amount of eggs would necessitate a large fridge though. I'm sure there are large incubators commercially available somewhere but it would still probably be cheaper to build one.

Tim Madsen
06-14-2002, 08:16 AM