PDA

View Full Version : Camera Help

Camera Help

Em Wright
10-11-2010, 03:17 AM
Hey all,

I currently have and have been using a Samsung S630 to take photos and I'm not sure if it's me, the settings, or just the quality of the camera, but my pictures never turn out very well. Out of 20 pictures I get maybe five that are worth keeping around. :shrugs:

I bought it a few years ago and until I started taking pictures of snakes never really bothered with it. But I've noticed my images are usually blurry, don't show details very well, and trying to get non-blurry close-ups is nearly impossible!

Anyway... does anyone have any suggestions for a better camera? I'm a novice to the world of photography, but I'd like to be able to take those very detailed, gorgeous shots of my snakes and truly capture their colors. That's the best part of the snake keeping hobby for me and my lousy camera tends to ruin it! :(

Oh, here's some of the specs of the camera...

6.0 mega pixels
5.8 - 17.4mm Zoom
2.5 Large LCD
ASR (Advanced Shake Reduction)

Thanks in advance!

SquamishSerpents
10-11-2010, 04:38 AM
as anyone is going to tell you, finding an entry level DSLR is going to be your best bet. i am a Nikon girl, and have been since i started photography, but of course that's just me and my own opinion. there will always be pros and cons to each brand, some may be more important to you than others. when shopping for a new camera make sure you actually go into the stores, and test them out. make sure it feels good in your hand, and that all the controls are in a spot that's comfortable for you.

i personally would recommend the Nikon D3000. i don't believe it does the newest DSLR trend...which is HD video. but to be honest, i have the Nikon D90, which DOES take HD video, and i've used it maybe once or twice, and the times i have used it i've ended up deleting the videos anyways. maybe i'm just not a video person?