PDA

View Full Version : multiple regurges

multiple regurges

Tork
12-14-2010, 11:55 AM
Hi, Im still new to owning corn snakes but my one snake he is 8 months old, he has regurgitated 3 times now , I have no idea why he regurgitated the first time, his temperatures where consistent in the tank. but I waited a week and fed him half a pinkie and then he regurgitated that, so I waited again and fed him half a pinkie and when he kept that down waited again and got him back on his normal feeding. He has been feeding normally for 3 feedings now and this would have been his fourth but he regurgitated yet again. Now just before he started regurgitating I switched where I was buying pinkies, could it possibly be their mice that are making him sick ? however my other corn snake ( approximately the same age) has had no trouble keeping the mice down and her temps where consistent just as his were.

thank you to anyone who could shed some light on this.

Dreamsnake
12-14-2010, 12:05 PM
It can be difficult to diagnose. I must advise that you keep everything that contacts the sick snake from the healthy one. Use separate brushes to clean the water dishes, hides, whatever is in the tank and do not let the feeding tubs contact each other. If you can put the sick snake in another room. I've even changed out the bedding and put my regurgatater (if that is a word) on paper towels to better inspect the poop. I too have a snake that has regurged three times. I think mine can't handle bones. Frankly I'm not expecting her to survive the winter. Sometimes snakes have problems like this, they were never intended to survive the first year.

Shiari
12-14-2010, 02:41 PM
If you look up 'regurge protocol' you'll get many threads with great advice.

First: What *are* your temperatures? How are you measuring them? What sort of heat source do you have? How many hides does your snake have, and where are they placed? What part of the house is your snake in? Somewhere high traffic or low?