PDA

View Full Version : First day out in New Mexico

First day out in New Mexico

oreo
03-16-2004, 06:15 PM
Today was my first attempt in the field out here in New Mexico and turned up nothing. If I were looking for fence lizards I would be rich. I was looking for some plains rats and mountain patched nosed maybe some hognosed. It was 65 degrees outside at about 2 o'clock. So I figured I might see something sunning itself or hanging out next to the boulders at the base of our mountains.

Does anyone from the southwest know of a prime time for fielding? I am new to these parts and would like to not waste so much time that I burn out on hiking around.

Thanks and good luck to everyone else.

CAV
03-16-2004, 07:00 PM
Most head to the Herp rich Trans-Pecos region of West Texas starting in May. I'm in Austin and it is supposed to be in the 80s this week. If it doesn't rain I plan on heading out this weekend to check a couple of local herp honey holes.

way2corny
03-23-2004, 10:59 AM
I think your going in mid-day was a good idea, but because you didn't turn up anything, I would suggest trying early morning, say 9am or so (in the hopes of catching them under rocks, etc. before they have a chance to warm up and move around). I would also suggest trying at dusk to pick up those species that are crepuscular (active at dawn and dusk) or nocturnal. I find that a prime time for milksnakes is like 3am, just to give you an idea of how varied species activity times can be.

I just got back from a week-long, herping trip through south Texas myself, and was lucky enough to see 48 total species, 6 of them being state protected species (TX indigo snake, TX tortoise, TX horned lizard, Mexican tree frog, Sheep frog, and Reticulated collarded lizard), so keep trying! Time spent searching in the field is directly correlated with how many species you're going to turn up, so work hard.