PDA

View Full Version : Chloramine in tap water

Chloramine in tap water

Sherbet
03-18-2004, 02:16 AM
The water department has just begun adding chloramine in place of chlorine in our tap water. What is the danger to my snake? Does anyone have any information on chloramine and snakes?

leia
03-18-2004, 09:08 AM
No idea, chlorine isn't good to have either.

You can always get a water filter, like Brita, or buy bottled spring water. Personally, I use the brita.

Sparda
03-18-2004, 10:24 AM
The same thing happened here this summer. At first I bought the bottled spring water, then I just kept a couple of the jugs, and started "making" my own water. You can go to a pet store in the fish section and buy a bottle of Insto Chlor, ($3) it removes the chlorine and chloramine from the water. You just add 2 drops per gallon, and shake it up. I have been using this for a couple of months and it works great.
Just make sure you read the bottle, because some the stuff adds slime to the water for the fish, and you don't want that.
Good Luck!!!

leia
03-18-2004, 12:15 PM
Yeah I had some stuff like that for my betta, I used the same bottle of filtered water but wanted to be extra safe because he actually lived in the water rather than just an occasional visit.
The stuff I had like that stunk pretty badly, and the squirty lid got clogged, so I stopped using it.

Another thing is, I think if you just let tap water stand, the chlorine will evaporate out, I'm not sure about that other stuff though. For our turtles at home, my sister just lets the water stand for a week or two, but I think for our big fishtank my dad adds a chemical and lets it stand.

5bandit5
03-18-2004, 05:01 PM
Originally posted by Sherbet
The water department has just begun adding chloramine in place of chlorine in our tap water. What is the danger to my snake? Does anyone have any information on chloramine and snakes?