PDA

View Full Version : Deworming ?

Deworming ?

CornSnake Fever
06-14-2002, 03:23 PM
How often Do you have to deworm a Snake? or if ever you have to?

CornsnakeKeeper
06-14-2002, 05:28 PM
Cornsnakes aren't dogs.
You don't need to deworm them.
From all I know, I've never heard of snake worms.

I recommend the cornsnake manual. t's a book by Bill and Kathy Love and can be purchased at amazon.com. Then, come back with all of your other questions.

CornCrazy
06-14-2002, 05:39 PM
Actually, snakes CAN get worms and other internal parasites. I am a vet tech and I made sure to take a fecal sample with me to work when I got each of my snakes. I believe the corn snake manual speaks of internal parasites on pages 64-65. I would say if your snake's feces isn't normal, then it would be a good idea to have a fecal checked. Of course, snakes aren't like dogs and cats who get an automatic deworming every year. They simply need to be dewormed if parasites are present.

Good luck and I hope this helps!
Terri

CornSnake Fever
06-14-2002, 05:41 PM
That was just what I herd When I asked the vet about snakes . I have not yet taken my snake to the yet . but, when I took my cat in I asked about what they do for snakes in a check up and The doctor mentioned deworming.

CornSnake Fever
06-14-2002, 05:43 PM
I also have the manual

CornSnake Fever
06-14-2002, 05:45 PM
thank you CornCrazy I will read it.:)

CornCrazy
06-14-2002, 06:03 PM
You are VERY welcome! Also, if you get any new snakes you should consider taking them to the vet for an initial exam and a fecal. After that, they don't really need to go unless they are sick or have a problem (like being egg-bound or something).

Good luck and happy reading!
Terri

Susan
06-17-2002, 09:37 PM