PDA

View Full Version : How I get my shots...

How I get my shots...

EddieA
06-23-2011, 05:33 PM
Ok, I am by NO means a pro. I just figured this out by trying different things and it gets an effect that I personally like, so I have stuck with it.

The equipment I use are Pentax K10D and K7 cameras, Vivitar 285HV flash, and my little homemade snake studio. The "studio" is an old molded plastic guitar case that I lined with black coat wool (very non-reflective), and even glued a small cardboard box under the wool on the left side in case I want to take a shot that is a bit higher than the case floor. It is also cool that I can store some of my props in it.

Here's the studio:
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc198/lespaulspecial/snakes/Horatio/horatio28sep092.jpg

Up close with my technique, I get something like this:
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc198/lespaulspecial/snakes/Horatio/horatio.jpg

And this:
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc198/lespaulspecial/snakes/Ghosts/0gblood3.jpg

I start out with the F-stop around 4 and a shutter speed of 125 or so and adjust from there. The other thing I do is I mount my flash backwards (full power) and angle it 45 degrees over my shoulder and bounce the light off the kitchen walls. I also find that manual focus works better for me when doing snakes. You have to be fast sometimes though!

toxiclight
06-23-2011, 05:42 PM
What a fantastic idea :D I've been planning to make a light box, but as half my snakes are very pale morphs, I worried about them bleeding into the background. I love the black background...now to find something around here that will serve instead of a guitar case (since I don't happen to have one :/)

azhketh
06-23-2011, 07:20 PM
Forget the tips, I want that first snake! ;) That second pic is awesome, looks very professional.

Miqote
06-23-2011, 10:00 PM
I love the definition on the scales. Very beautiful!

idloveaguinness
06-23-2011, 10:44 PM