PDA

View Full Version : Regurge! :-puke01:

Regurge! :-puke01:

creamsicle83
08-05-2011, 09:42 AM
My snake won't hold down a meal, she is a 6 month old creamsicle... I've been breeding snakes for about 19-20 years... I have never had this problem, with a juvie! i have tried everything!!! I have fed her reds-regurge- I have tried pinkies-regurge- i have upped the temperature by 2 degrees, doesn't help. I have fed her at night-regurge-. ive left the light off, and uth on-regurge-. ive put a towel over her tank for 2 days-regurge!
I'm a reptile vet, and have never heard of none of these things not working! She eats, she'll be fine for the rest of that day. I'll wake up in the morning, look in her cage, and there will be a pinky, with no head, and the legs will be stuck to its sides, and it smells awefull!!!!!!! I don't touch her after she eats, because that'll usually cause it! Nope, ive been trying for about a month and a half, wasted about 7 or 8 pinkies! Is she sick?!?!?!?!
Any and all comments will be appreciated! :blowhead:

ScottyK
08-05-2011, 09:56 AM
Have you tried a probiotic?

Have you tried a very small meal like a pinkie head by itself?

How long are you waiting between feeding attempts?

creamsicle83
08-05-2011, 10:02 AM
i have not tried a probiotic.. i have tried a pinky head... ive even tried reds. im waiting about 5 days between feeding attempts...

ScottyK
08-05-2011, 10:35 AM
I would wait 10 to 14 days before attempting to feed again.

Check out this FAQ for some more information, and keep us posted...

Scott

FAQ from Kathy Love on Regurgitation Treatment

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT - once a snake has regurged, especially twice or more, it is more likely to keep on regurging until it dies, unless something is changed about its care and feeding. It is very important NOT to let this continue. PLEASE FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW VERY CAREFULLY. This is from my FAQ on regurges: