PDA

View Full Version : ?'s from a new WC Rat Snake owner ...

?'s from a new WC Rat Snake owner ...

miamitj
10-16-2011, 04:15 PM
Hi everyone,

Long story short, I saved a Rat Snake from becoming food in a recent survival class in the everglades. Brought him home, setup a tank for him and he has been doing well. I have had him for two weeks now and he has eaten two small mice without an issue. So far all good with the exception that he hides all day, kinda expected considering he was wild caught. He is my first snake. Tank was setup right using one of the many guides available online.

Anyway, I'm guessing he is full of parasites. Do I treat him, and if so with what, or do I not fix what is not broken?

Arpolis
10-16-2011, 05:32 PM
I am no expert with WC snakes and I hope someone chimes in here. I just recently got a WC rat snake myself. My thoughts are to keep him away from my other snakes and keep contact with him and the other snakes seperat. I don't even feed him the same days I feed my other snakes. Since he is your first you don't have to worry about all that. But if un-treated and un-known you should keep that practice in mind if you get a captive bred snake in the future. If you have a good reptile vet around it may be good to give him a call and see if they recommend anything. The vet in my neck of the woods doesn't seem to confident in wild snakes and gave me the if not broke don't fix it treatment.

miamitj
10-16-2011, 05:59 PM
I figured I would add a link to a short video showing off the snake.

Also, a couple more questions:

1. looks to have a spot on his head, ideas?
2. Is he what they would call a "Miami Phase" ?

Video here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTCoHb4PxmU

Arpolis
10-16-2011, 06:22 PM