PDA

View Full Version : Help! Regurg Problem.(New Owner)

Help! Regurg Problem.(New Owner)

bildo69
02-21-2012, 06:45 PM
I am brand new to corn snakes and reptiles as a whole and I am doing this to further my knowledge in the area in order to become a better owner. So please keep the non-constructive comments to a minimal.

here is the run down:

I purchased my corn snake from petco about 3 weeks ago. here is a schedule of feedings, regurges etc...

Feb. 1 -- Purchased from Petco
Feb. 2 --
Feb. 3 --
Feb. 4 --
Feb. 5 --
Feb. 6 --
Feb. 7 --
Feb. 8 --Fed 1 pinkie
Feb. 9 --
Feb. 10 --Fed 1 Pinkie
Feb. 11 --(regurg)(handled snake too soon)(realize I fed too soon as well)
Feb. 12 --
Feb. 13 --
Feb. 14 --
Feb. 15 --
Feb. 16 --Fed 1 Pinkie
Feb. 17 --(regurg)
Feb. 18 --
Feb. 19 -- Tried another feeding but was rejected, (also used seperate container to feed as well)
Feb. 20 --
Feb. 21 --
Feb. 22 --

When I purchased my corn snake at petco I asked how often they had fed him and they told me twice a week so originally my plan was to sick to their feeding plan. As you can see that did not work out so well. After asking around to the other pet stores I now have decided to go with once a week at most, maybe even every other week.

Having a 7 month old in the house i was told to help with agressiveness to handle the snake as much as possible and to feed in a seperate container.

I know realize not to handle the snake at least 48 hours after feeding.

current set up is......

tank: ten gallon
Substrate: Exxo Terro Jungle Earth
Have a hide away on one side of tank as well as water dish on the other.
Heating pad underneath side with hide away
Also have heating lamp with 50w infared bulb for cold winter nights.

temp is anywhere from 80-90
Humidity is around 30 percent with light misting everyday on tank sides

Please let me know what I should do from here or whats going on. And any advice from some experienced members to a new owner would be much appreciated.

beautifullywild77