PDA

View Full Version : Blizzard shedding headache

Blizzard shedding headache

Stygian Faerie
04-07-2012, 08:22 AM
I've a 4 year old Blizzard who is the biggest pain when it comes to shedding. I've had him for a year now and he's never managed to shed fully by himself yet!
He's a very shy snake and when he's ready to shed he just hides so he ends up becoming really dehydrated and "crinkly". I have to bath him every time he goes to shed and I'm wondering if I'll have to do this his entire life. He also goes into blue every 3/4 weeks.
He's currently in a 2ft viv as anything bigger terrified him, I've tried misting, I've tried damp hides, I've put tonnes of plastic plants all over the place to make him feel more secure and I've tried taking some out in case it was too much for him. I've given him different materials to rub against...
What am I doing wrong here? I've been keeping corns for 8 years and I've never had such a problem before :(

Nanci
04-07-2012, 09:15 AM
I would try covering the screen lid of the viv with plastic wrap, loosely, and misting daily when he goes blue.

Alternately, you could think about keeping him in a plastic bin in a rack. He might feel more secure, and the loss of humidity is much less in a rack, plus you can further control the loss by making fewer ventilation holes in his bin.

It's interesting that he goes blue once a month. At his age he "should" be shedding about four times a year. How often/what is he eating?

dave partington
04-07-2012, 09:16 AM
my 3 yr old blizzard has spent most of her life hiding. She has a flat bottomed 6 qt sterilite feeding bin in her viv. She comes out, feeds, and then sandwiches herself between the bottom of the feeding tub and the bottom of the viv. I guess she feels secure with a lot of her body in contact with other surfaces. She also has a big porcelain glazed casserole dish of water; humidity is plentiful. Never had a shed problem.