PDA

View Full Version : Aggressive after feeding

Aggressive after feeding

rvan
06-11-2012, 07:01 PM
I am new to snakes and have had this one(Sunglow Motley) for about 2 months now. (He is about 20 months old.)I move him to a different container when I feed him and the first two times it went smooth. After he ate I was able to pick him up and move him a couple of feet to his home. He then went blue and shed and did not eat during that period.

The last two feeding I did everything the same, but when I went to remove him from the feed container he began the tail rattle and would strike at my hand. I even put the container on it side and let him onto the carpet then tried the pick-up with the same results.

Is this a common issue? What would you recommend in this situation?

Thanks in advance Randy

Bartholomew
06-11-2012, 07:05 PM
Give him some time to settle down after he has eaten. Say 10 minutes or so? You decide.
The more you fiddle with him, the more he's going to get stressed, and the harder it will be for you to get him in his terrarium.

beautifullywild77
06-11-2012, 07:44 PM
They are still in hunt/feeding mode right after they eat. It might just be that.

AliCat37
06-11-2012, 09:44 PM
I just feed in the cage so I don't need to mess with snakes in feed mode.
Have you tried just letting him slither from the feed box to his cage?

Kate
06-12-2012, 12:04 AM
Well you can't feed in the cage with aspen bedding, for the risk of ingesting the bedding. I agree with the others, give him 10 or 15minutes after he's swallowed completely, he should calm down. We feed how you do and we give her awhile to get over the feeding response.

AliCat37
06-12-2012, 12:13 AM
Well you can't feed in the cage with aspen bedding, for the risk of ingesting the bedding.

Not true. All of mine are on aspen. All of mine are fed in their cages.

Nanci
06-12-2012, 05:07 AM