PDA

View Full Version : Baby corn not eating should I worry so much yet?

Baby corn not eating should I worry so much yet?

corn2012
09-13-2012, 02:26 PM
Hi there! I'm new to posting, I've been viewing threads for about two months now but figured I should join up.
We have a baby caramel corn she's just over 2 months. We have had her for a month now. She didn't keep down her last meal at the pet store we got her from, so because I started reading posts before we actually got her I knew to wait a while then fed her half a pinkie. She kept it down no problem. The next week she ate a full (but very tiny) pinkie. Since then she hasn't eaten anything. We are at 2.5 weeks of not eating.
We tried a smaller feeding bin, and tried cutting a pinkie, and braining. Last night I tried the small deli container with a kitchen towel over it, but still nothing. Its kinda weird how nervous I am about her eating. I never thought I'd get SO attached to her so quickly!
Okay so now the basics... Her hot side is heated under tank and sits at 84 and hygrometer is at 41 and her cold side is at 76 but 72 at night. I'm measuring the heat on top and in middle of the aspen. I've seen her drink often. Shes very active, even moves around during the day sometimes.
I've kept lizards and frogs but never a snake so just want to make sure I'm doing things right, any ideas or advice would be greatly appretated.
Thank you so much!!!:o

Nanci
09-13-2012, 02:27 PM
When is the last time she shed? When you say she is very active, is she very active today?

bitsy
09-13-2012, 02:29 PM
Have you tried leaving her in the deli container with the food overnight? Sometimes nervous eaters need absolute quiet and dark before they feel safe enough to eat. Just put the deli container back into her living tank, at the cool end. Set her up just before you go to bed, then no checking until you get up for breakfast.

corn2012
09-13-2012, 02:51 PM
Wow! You guys rock, very quick responses!!