PDA

View Full Version : Info on Crypto! HELP?

Info on Crypto! HELP?

WestCoast_Redneck
01-10-2013, 05:49 PM
There's a chance my snake could have/carry crypto. I've been advised the breeder I acquired this yearling from is a known carrier of this illness. As a new snake owner, this is a bit worrisome to us. I have done extensive research, however I have very little 'owner' experience regarding snakes.

I will be feeding my snake tonight. What should I know? Besides quarantine, disinfect, etc. What else can I do to ensure my snake stays healthy? I know I can test for crypto, but because it's incurable, there seems no point unless my snake becomes sick or we decide (unlikely) to acquire another corn.

Any and all help/advise is appreciated!!

crotalis40741
01-10-2013, 06:20 PM
I would personally go ahead and test the snake, it could save a lot of heartache down the road if the snake is infected with crypto. Especially if you plan on getting other snakes. Have the vet do a gastric lavage and a PCR test. An acid fast test is not as accurate.

diamondlil
01-10-2013, 06:25 PM
If the snake is infected, obviously it could become ill at some point, but many people believe crypto is endemic in the hobbby and becomes a problem mainly when other factors place additional stress on the snake. So a snake could live a long and seemingly healthy life, never showing any symptoms, whereas others will show symptoms and deteriorate quickly after events like shipping or brumation.