PDA

View Full Version : Feeder Live-Kill Mice/Rats

Feeder Live-Kill Mice/Rats

ryoverde
01-23-2013, 11:10 AM
Question: For those critters (small/large mice, rat pups) of size not economical to get frozen, what is the most humane way to pre-kill them for feeding? I'm not very good at breaking necks on table-top edges. The guilt of the pain I'm causing is getting to me.

I'm actually, right now, considering, of all things, a cheap electronic mouse trap that claims humane kills via high voltage.

And yet, ages n' ages ago, I seem to recall the pharmacology prof in college having a really nice spring loaded neck breaker, but of course cannot find any such thing.

Local pet store subscribes to the "snake needs the exercise of killing its own prey" dogma and will not kill'em for me.

Any suggestions would help.

Thx in advance.
Cara B, SA TX
user id ryoverde

AliCat37
01-23-2013, 11:34 AM
Electrocution is probably worse than what you have been doing.

I have found it easiest with large mice or any rats, to place the long end of a screwdriver or something else solid with a handle, right behind their heads with the mouse or rat on a slick surface. All you need to do is push the screw driver down wards (not very hard, you don't want them to panic, but you need them to be still) and then give a swift pull to the base of the animal's tail, or body. This dislocates the neck/spinal cord. The best part is there is no swinging the animal through the air to a table top or brick, so the animal experiences as little fear before dying as possible.
A warning though is that I have found they get nose bleeds a lot after being dislocated, so be prepared for that.

I think I sound like a serial killer. :(

VampMN
01-23-2013, 01:31 PM
Have you considered CO2? I haven't done it personally, but it seems like it would be a humane way to do it, if done correctly. There are loads of tutorials and such online about building a CO2 box.

Nanci
01-23-2013, 01:52 PM