PDA

View Full Version : More active than normal

More active than normal

Misskri
03-06-2013, 08:39 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forum. My son has had his corn snake for over a year. No issues...feeding once a week, shedding normally, etc. until last week.
Feeding day...he wouldn't eat. We tried again yesterday and again...no interest. He's been VERY active, too. He moves his hides, slithering all over.
Is this normal or something I should be concerned about? I've googled a couple reptile vets in our area, just in case we need to take him in.
Thank you in advance for your help!

Justine66
03-06-2013, 08:50 PM
I'm no expert!

but if its a male like you say he is.. and he's a year old or so, it sounds like he's just got other things on his mind! (its spring and its about the time of year where he would normally be making babies!)

its normal for them to go off feeding for even a couple months, this time of year.
hell be fine trust me! he's probably just "lonely and looking for love" ;)

Misskri
03-06-2013, 09:13 PM
Oh no...poor guy.
Thank you for the quick response.
I'm wondering when we should try feeding him again...two mice have already been thrown out.

Justine66
03-06-2013, 09:17 PM
yeah... I would try giving him a couple of weeks.
try saving the mice and waiting.

this makes sence though!
I'm glad I could help :o

berrinmichelle
03-14-2013, 12:31 PM
same thing is happening to my albino corn snake! i haven't had her (?) sexed yet, planning on doing that today actually. so i don't know if it's actually a female or a male. but she hasn't eaten the two times i've offered it to her, and she's been VERY active lately. more so than normal. on the flip side, my ball python (known as a "he" but never sexed) was active when i first got him (from a private party, not a pet shop) and now all he wants to do is ball up under his hide day and night :\

starsevol
03-14-2013, 12:54 PM
Oh no...poor guy.