PDA

View Full Version : Is my old corn snake dying?

Is my old corn snake dying?

karmella
12-02-2013, 08:54 PM
Karmella is an 18 years old corn snake (I originally miscalculated) that I've had since she was a little pencil.
Despite a generally clean environment, she has scale rot for the first time ever that I'm currently treating with polysporin. She has never been sick before.
I've raised the temp in her tank.
I've sanitized the tank and placed paper towel on the bottom and faithfully replace clean water daily (room temp water that's been sitting out for 24hours).
She is very inactive and has lost some weight and strength.
She has not eaten for at least 12 weeks now.
Her breathing is slow and deep.
I noticed a few small lumps on her side here and there (smaller than pea-size).
I am not able to get her to a vet so if you have any other suggestions or comments, that would be appreciated.

rich333
12-02-2013, 09:56 PM
I'm no expert.....

but if it were me.....

I'd keep doing what your doing. Perhaps She's not eating because she's stressed over

the Scale rot....

Try to get that under control....and see if her appetite comes back.

Eatmice2010
12-03-2013, 09:41 AM
I hope he gets better :(

Justine66
12-03-2013, 12:33 PM
yeah, I would keep treating the scale rot..
when my snake had minor scale rot he wouldn't eat, and he also hid a lot!

I'm guessing to try and heal himself!
good luck I hope she gets better!

Spencer
12-05-2013, 06:59 PM
12 weeks is a while though.

karmella
12-09-2013, 09:46 AM