PDA

View Full Version : When should I start worrying?

When should I start worrying?

Kevin S.
07-31-2004, 04:01 PM
Hey guys. This is my first time breeding my snakes and my first clutch hatched last weekend. Of the 7 hatchlings, 5 ate the same day or the day after they hatched. This weekend, all but 2 have shed, with only 2 of the original 5 feeders eating this time (both ate after shedding). I'm thinking the other 3 will resume feeding after they shed. However, the 2 that still haven't eaten have me puzzled. They take notice of pinkies and sometimes nose prod them (one is especially interested in tongue flicking if I scent the pinkies) but never eat. I've left them alone in deli cups with them, brained the pinkies, put shed house gecko skin on the pinkies and still no luck. I know it's just been a week so it's no big deal yet, but I was wondering how long I should wait before I should start worrying. I'll be out of town for the next 2 weeks for work, but I'll be back on weekends to feed. Any other tips for things I should try or will I just have to wait another week and try again? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Missy
07-31-2004, 07:03 PM
well for starters kevin, you are not meant to feed them until they have had their first shed, within 7-10 days of hatching, however at this moment i wouldnt worry to much about it. i am surpirsed that they did eat soo soon though.
the 3 that had eaten but have not yet shed, will more likely eat once they have shed. give them a few days
the 2 that have eaten, then shed and have eaten again are fine.
the 2 that have not yet ate, let them shed first before you try again, once they have shed, leave them a day then try again, they should eat. maybe try braining the pinkie again, or cutting the pinkie in half, if all this fails, you may have to force feed. they all should be okay though
good luck and hope this helped.
:-)

Kevin S.
07-31-2004, 07:25 PM