PDA

View Full Version : Shedding question.

Shedding question.

tara.kimberly.1
07-25-2014, 02:45 PM
I'm quite new to snake owning. And the past owner of this one didn't seam to know much so I don't think me and my friend have been very good parents.

My corn is about 4 years old and I've had him over a month now. He hasn't shed. She said he was due to shed. He's really inactive at the moment. I've just bought him a heat mat and thermostat to regulate it. But he's still spending all his time in his hide. I don't want to feed him because I found regurge from when I fed him a week ago. I know I sound inexperienced but I don't want to do anything wrong and would rather get some help and advice.

Should I leave him and not feed him to see if he sheds or feed him ? My research isn't quick enough and although I'm reading a lot about corn snakes if don't want to make him poorly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nanci
07-25-2014, 07:44 PM
Well, you don't want to feed him anyway if he regurged the last feeding. Wait two weeks, then feed him a meal half the size of what he regurged. Obtain Nutribac probiotics and put that on all his meals. Slit his mice crosswise through the skin of the back- about 4-5 slits.

tara.kimberly.1
07-25-2014, 07:46 PM
He did it about a week ago. So I should leave him another week or so? He's always in his hide at the moment. More than usual now I've his heat mat in. I've read this is normal?

smigon
07-26-2014, 09:41 AM
What is the thermostat set at for his warm hide?

Here is a really great info sheet Nanci has written for new corn owners, it will help you with some of the questions you have. Also there are books on corns, I would get as much reading as you can about them since you seem to be having some issues with your new baby.

http://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95298

Nanci
07-26-2014, 09:44 AM