PDA

View Full Version : Feeding a timid snake?

Feeding a timid snake?

mythkeeper
10-02-2014, 10:05 PM
I just got my 4-month-old okeetee a week ago, and want to feed him asap. However, he hides all day and the majority of the night curled up in a place in his hide where I can't see him. The terrarium is decked out with lots of hides and fake plants, but hes still really skittish. When he was out today, I tried gently picking him up to transfer him to a feeding container, but he fled back to his hide, terrified. The last record from the pet store of him eating was three weeks ago, so needless to day, I want to feed him right away. I'm just scared that I'll end up hurting him if I try to grab him while he's fleeing so fast. Should I just feed him in his tank for now until he gets used to being handled? And if so, where and when do I put the pinkie in, and for how long until it goes bad? Thanks in advance for any advice. I'm brand new to snakes and want to give my little guy the best life possible. :)

daddio207
10-02-2014, 10:23 PM
Go ahead and feed him in the tank. Put the pinky on a lid/plate. Feed him in the evening. Leave it in overnight.

He's acting normal..

Welcome :)

Popcorn715
10-02-2014, 11:09 PM
Go ahead and feed him in the tank. Put the pinky on a lid/plate. Feed him in the evening. Leave it in overnight.

He's acting normal..

Welcome :)
I agree. We had the same issue when we first got our snake. It was way too hard to catch him, and we were unsure about the whole thing. After two successful feedings in his tank (he'd come out and eat when we stopped watching), we all got a lot more comfortable with handling, and he's easily come out for every feeding since.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

mythkeeper
10-02-2014, 11:49 PM