PDA

View Full Version : Regurgitation AND incomplete shed

Regurgitation AND incomplete shed

cjs5469
03-22-2015, 01:31 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a 2 year old corn, I last weighed him (or her?) at the end of February and he was 27.39g and approximately 20 inches long. 30g tank, aspen bedding, warm hide is around 81F and cold is around 73F, with humidity fluctuating between 15%-40% depending on the weather (and according to the non-digital hygrometer I have :P). On March 13 I fed him his first fuzzy; I had been feeding him 2 pinkies every 7 days for about 4 months before this. He seemed to have no problems, so on March 20 I fed him another fuzzy.

On the 21st I found a partial regurgitation. He's only regurgitated once before, over a year ago, when I first got him and didn't fully thaw a pinkie. At that time he regurgitated almost the entire pinkie, while this regurgitation had what looked like some fur in it, and seemed mostly liquified. I would estimate it to be 1/10th of the total mass of the fuzzy. I could identify what looked like some stomach/intestines of the fuzzy, but other than that it was mostly a brownish paste.

I also found some urea (hardened white/crystallized waste stuck on the substrate) on the edges of the regurgitation, which I thought to be strange as I was under the impression that urea is characteristic of bowel movement and not regurgitation. Regardless, I'm relatively confident this was a regurgitation considering I fed him a fuzzy the day before he regurgitated and I remember the smell from his first regurg...