PDA

View Full Version : Advice re a newly adopted snake

Advice re a newly adopted snake

KatSelf
05-30-2015, 01:33 PM
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here. We have taken a 5 year old female snow corn from someone who could no longer care for it and didn't know what she was doing. She's about 5ft long, I haven't had a chance to weigh her yet.
I've had a corn snake before so I was happy to take her on.
I was told that she hasn't been feeding well due to it being mating season, but that she has just started eating again. However she looks underweight to me... You can see her spine. We only got her on Wednesday but we did offer food yesterday... She wasn't interested. I'm not to worried about that because I know she needs to settle.
I thought it odd that there was no thermostat on the viv so I've sorted that out and bought a new heat mat as the one she had wasn't working. I'm wondering if her feeding issues my be down to lack of heat.

The main thing I am worried about is that she keeps opening her mouth. I don't think she has any mouth rot as it all looks fine. I don't think this is a respiratory problem either as they are no other symptoms... Can anyone advise me please.

hypnoctopus
05-30-2015, 02:11 PM
Welcome to the forum!

Is it possible that she is in blue? It can be quite challenging to tell with a snow corn. Sometimes my snakes will open their mouths while they're in blue.

She definitely may have been refusing food because of too cool temperatures. I would give her a good week to settle in (and to see if she sheds or becomes obviously in blue) and then attempt to feed her something very hot and smaller than what she should be eating.

If you can post a picture of her, we see how underweight she is.

KatSelf
05-30-2015, 02:29 PM
Here are some pics

KatSelf
05-30-2015, 02:30 PM
Did only 1 pic come through

KatSelf
05-30-2015, 02:31 PM
Try again !

KatSelf
05-30-2015, 02:33 PM
Finally ! Still getting the hang of this

hypnoctopus
05-30-2015, 02:58 PM