PDA

View Full Version : Black pinkies

Black pinkies

Lleny
07-21-2015, 09:48 PM
Hi all.
I got my first corn about two weeks ago. He had his first week of alone time before his first feed, all of which seemed to go well.

Five days later I attempted his second feed. It took some convincing but he eventually went for it. Unfortunately, the next morning i found the pinkie regurgitated and mostly undigested.

While I think the regurge is likely a result of temps (He was hanging out on the cool side before i went to bed), I'd like a second opinion on the pinkies I bought for him:
http://i.imgur.com/NeOcSqwl.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/p1wLTSjl.jpg

Like I said, I'm new to this, so I didn't question the look of the pinkies, initially. But after googling some images, I'm a bit concerned. Once they're thawed, they look very black with a yellow tint to their bellies. And the yellow crust that you can see frozen on them melts into a yellowy film that I assume is urine(normal?). It's sticky and makes drying them difficult before feeding, even though I thaw in a bag dipped in water. I'm planning on buying a new pack for his next feed anyway, just to be safe, but has anyone run into pinkies like these before?

As I said, I think there are other issues that I think can explain the regurge. The house gets to an ambient 86F on hot days and down to 60F on cold nights, so I'm having a tough time keeping a consistent gradient. To make matters worse, I had the aspen bedding patted down fairly well, which I think was discouraging him from burrowing in it.

I was also feeding him in his Viv on a plastic "plate" (sauce cup lid), but he pulled the pinkie off the plate and into his hide during this most recent feed. So I'm considering the scary possibility that he might have swallowed some Aspen in there. Planning on getting a feeding tub to avoid the possibility altogether.