PDA

View Full Version : New snake regurgitated!!!

New snake regurgitated!!!

toonytrolly
12-23-2015, 09:27 PM
I'm relatively new to owning cornsnakes, but I've been researching how to look after one for MONTHS and thought things were going fine until today. I got him about a week ago, I think he's roughly a year old, and I have not handled him since placing him in his tank. I waited 6 days before feeding him to allow him time to settle in, the temps all seemed good (the only thing I was displeased about was that I had to use a red bulb awaiting a UTH) but the warm side averaged 80-85 with the cool side staying at a steady 70 degrees. He has two hides, on both sides of his tank, but seems to prefer the bigger one at the warm end. I even checked the temps inside his tank with a heat gun, and they never exceeded 86 at the highest. He seemed to be doing alright, coming out daily to drink some water and explore the fake plants in his tank, but tonight I noticed him with his mouth hanging open and rushed over to see what was going on - he regurgitated the mouse I fed him yesterday whole. I'm in a state of panic and confusion at the moment, and desperately trying to figure out how to set up his newly arrived UTH without stressing him out. Does anyone have any possible explanations for why he would have regurgitated? I'm really concerned about him, and I can't really think of a reason for him to have regurgitated....

Karl_Mcknight
12-24-2015, 06:24 AM
it could be many reasons.
1). Temps not tight - But you've stated they are
2). Rough handling after feeding (you should not handle for 2 to 3 days after they eat)
3). He could be sick (parasites, stomach blockage, respiratory virus, other) a vet visit may be needed.
4). About to shed (although this rarely causes regurg- but I have heard of it)

Most of the cases I've personally heard about regarding regurg, have been due to improper temps and/or improper handling.

daddio207
12-24-2015, 11:06 AM