PDA

View Full Version : Corn Snake not eating

Corn Snake not eating

JadeChristal
04-18-2016, 03:31 PM
Hello, i'm new here so not sure if i am posting this to the right place :')

I have an amel corn snake, about 7 years old and i have had him for just over a year.
The last 7-8 weeks he has not eaten a thing, he is also more active than he usually is.
He gets medium mice every 7-10 days and has eaten every one once presented until now.
I studied animal care at college so i am thinking it could be something to do with mating season.
He was eating during winter and this started just before spring.
I know they can go quite a while without food and still be fine but it still worries me.
Should i try with smaller mice? or keep trying every week or two with the mice he already eats?

jagodzinski
04-18-2016, 03:41 PM
First of all, welcome! (And this is a totally appropriate place for you to post this).

This time of year many snakes go off food. 7-8 weeks seems like a lot of time, but it is not super alarming yet. Keep offering food on the regular schedule - are you feeding (f/t) frozen thawed? If so, make sure they are warm and you can try moving them around a little to seem more appealing.

Otherwise, make sure he has fresh water, and otherwise seems healthy. This is breeding season for them like you said - so others I am sure are experiencing the same thing.

If you start to notice any other concerning things, you could call your vet to speak to someone on the phone, but right now I would not worry too much.

Look around the forums, use the search function, and I am sure you can find other similar stories to help reassure you!

Karl_Mcknight
04-18-2016, 05:34 PM
I've heard of many snakes not eating for 4 or 5 months and they are perfectly fine. As long as he seems ok otherwise. ie - He's active, Drinking water, Not acting sick, etc....

He will eat when he's ready to.