PDA

View Full Version : Feeding scheduals

Feeding scheduals

Ragnarok
07-11-2002, 07:53 PM
I'm new at snakes and I'm getting a pair of baby Type B Anerys. I was wondering how much you feed them at the different stages in their life. I'm trying to create a database to keep track of everything with, but I was hoping to get different peoples opinion on how much to feed them.

I'm thinking that I will brake their lives into 3 sections, Babies, Juvenile, and Adult. within the adult section I would like to break it down even farther into pre and post breeding periods and then a feeding schedual for when I am not trying to breed them.

What I would like to know is how much and how often should I feed them for each period. From what I have read, I think that the feeding scheduals, when I'm breeding them, should be different for the male and female, if you could include your thoughts on this it would be very helpfull.

Also what type of mice should I be feeding them at the different stages in their life and how should I define the different stages in their lives. By weight/length?

I know I'm asking for alot of information here and I'll under stand if people don't particularly feel like answering the whole thing but any help is appreciated.
Thank you in advance,
Ragnarok

nova
07-11-2002, 10:25 PM
I feed mine every 5 days. Now it is two hoppers every five days. for hatchlings I would suggest pinkies. Adults use adult mice. anything in between depends on the width of the snake. Hope it helps.

Alicia
07-12-2002, 12:13 AM
Your feeding schedule will depend on how fast you want them to grow. I have started out the young ones feeding every 4 days. If they are babies they will start out on pinkies, so 1 pinkie every 4/5 days. When they get bigger they will take 2 pinkies. When they out grow the pinkies you feed them fuzzies and so on. As they grow you will get a feel for what size mice and how often to feed. I push out the days between feedings as they mature and growth slows.