PDA

View Full Version : Just a few questions??

Just a few questions??

Virago
11-19-2004, 11:09 AM
Hello everyone,

I've been reading this forum for awhile now, but never posted. I'm still relatively new with snakes. I never had any problems with my snake. I have always kept him in a homemade viv. I was told temperatures should be 70-83 and always has been. Probably drops to about 70 in the whole tank at night.

Here is my question, Houdini has very minor bends in his tail. You know they're there but no crazy. And it starts at the tip of his tail and goes maybe 1/2-3/4 of an inch of (very minor) zigzag. the only thing I can see is I have fake plants in the viv and he's always on it for support. Climbing up the walls and puching against the "ceiling" of his viv. He looks like an upside down "L". The top of his tank is all wood to get in there a little door on hinges of the roof of the tank. Somtimes when he's doing his upside down "L" thing he eventually falls. Maybe one day he was hanging on ans then he let go of the roof and was still hanging on to the plant???? I'm pretty sure its not a big deal but just wondering. He has never showed any signs of stress, aggression or any bad health. He's my very happy (I assume) little buddy!

This whole story is all because I would like to breed my Houdini, so I'm getting a companion for him. ( don't really know if he's M/F, I'm bringing him along to get probed so he can get a proper sexed mate). I have just read the "CORN SNAKE MANUAL" and under acquiring a corn snake it says "tail kinks alone probably won't be detrimental in a pet, but snakes with such conditions shouldn't be used for breeding."

Has any one had a situation like this? Why shouldn't you breed them? Houdinis,s injury is very minor. I can't see it having any effect. But that's why I'm asking. I like feed back.

Thanks

guitrage
11-19-2004, 10:12 PM