PDA

View Full Version : cornsnakes in CA?

cornsnakes in CA?

herplover
03-12-2005, 07:40 PM
well im new to cornsnakes and i was wondering if they live in CA i know we have garter snakes but im not sure about corns oh and also if we do get them what type of habitat would they be in?thanks!

mbdorfer
03-12-2005, 08:23 PM
Sorry, corns have not been struck with gold fever.
I do believe they may have gone as far west as Utah.
But this may be debateable (is that a word) :shrugs:
You all have some awesome lampropeltis though!

herplover
03-12-2005, 08:27 PM
are lampropeltis king snakes?and where abouts in CA do they live? northern or southern?

mbdorfer
03-12-2005, 09:20 PM
are lampropeltis king snakes?and where abouts in CA do they live? northern or southern?
Yes and Yes.
You have zonata the mountain kings, there are 7 subspecies(last time I checked) that range from Oregon to the Baja Peninsula of Mexico.
And getula , the common king,lampropeltis californiae which is found throughout most of the state

CAV
03-13-2005, 12:40 AM
And Rubber Boas, don't forget the Rubber Boas! :cheers:

dionythicus
03-13-2005, 12:43 AM
Before the non-corn police get us...don't forget gophersnakes and rosy boas! Rubber boas might be protected? They are in WA.

herplover
03-13-2005, 11:53 AM
wow i dident know we get so many diffrent snakes in ca ill have to go out and search for some cuz the only one that ive seen was a gophersnake but id love to see a rosy boa and a rubber boa ill have to find somthing that will tell me what kind of habitat they live in

TrpnBils
03-13-2005, 11:53 AM
Keep in mind you also have rattlesnakes....be careful lifting things if you're looking for snakes because you may end up on Animal Planet's "Venom ER" show...lol

Rosebear
03-14-2005, 01:25 AM