PDA

View Full Version : Anery Hatchling - not eating after 6 weeks

Anery Hatchling - not eating after 6 weeks

logic
08-30-2005, 01:29 AM
Greetings...

I'm new to snakes and this forum, and recently purchased a anery hatch...
she is in her own viv, with plenty of hides, water, the temp ranges from 80 - 90 degrees...
she tends to spend the majority of her time in her tube...
from the research i've done, this is very common until she matures...

I do handle her every few days, but i've noticed she's a bit skittish at first...
but eventually calms down, she has not attempted to ever strike, but does rear back....

I usually feed her in a small critter keeper...
and all of my attempts have been days apart if not weeks...
here are the things i've tried...

- left a f/t pinky in the dark for 1-3 hrs
- 6 hrs in the dark
- over night in the dark
- braining
- live (i thought this would work for certain - it was a last resort)
- dangling
- teasing, while holding her (by slightly tapping her - not on her head) and trying to get her to strike (this was interesting, she actually went into a full alligator death roll until i released her)

- the f/t were warmed using tap water... i've even tried just leaving the pink out at room temp.... i do not touch the pinkies before feeding...

- some of the times i've tried, i've noticed, when i return the pinky has exploded- i did noticed, with the live, that when i returned, her lower half was rapped around the pink, but not strangling it - almost as if she was doing it for security or to feel more comfortable...

its been approximately 5-6 weeks and i have been unsuccessful in getting her to eat at all...

any assistance would be greatly appreciated...
thanks in advance....!!!

drizzt_19
08-30-2005, 03:34 AM
Use the link in my signature for more ideas on things to try....

logic
09-01-2005, 02:04 AM
I tried again last night with no success.

Thank you, I appreciate the information. I will try some of the recommendations listed.