PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Hello

R00K
10-30-2005, 07:39 PM
Hi, I just got my first Corn yesterday. It is my first snake ever. Well in captivity. I've always seemed to have luck finding Garter Snakes in the woods.
My background is in Tropical Fish. I've kept fish since I was a teenager. I am one that prefers to replicate the natural habitat. I tried to do this with my fish over the years. Real plants, wood and rocks. Sometimes substrate.
I once had two small geckos but had to give them away when I went to college.
I started the 10 gal Tank on the Wednesday and picked up the corn on Saturday after JiuJitsu. The tank has the reptile bark mixed with aspen mulch and potting soil for the plants. There is a ceramic bowl and a rock with a cave under it. I am still looking for a nice branch to add. I have an aquarium thermometre right now. Ordered a nice digital temp/hyd with probe. I have a lamp and UTH but only use the lamp once or twice a day if temp dips. (See attached)

I've been waiting to get a corn for over a year. But thought it would be too difficult. After visiting the PS a couple weeks ago I was originally going to get a couple Rough Green Snakes because they ate crickets and I've dealt with crickets before. Wasn't too keen on doing the mouse/rat thing. I have two young kids. I read up on Rough Green Snakes and found out that they're very fragile and are not advised for beginners. They said it was because the profession still doesn't know enough about their diet. Corns on the other hand are suppose to be good for beginners. So I've heard.