PDA

View Full Version : Hello every one

Hello every one

RavenWolf
11-09-2005, 07:14 PM
I'm new to the snake world. I don't have one yet, But I think they are beautiful and fascinating creatures! Its been about 2 months since I decided I wanted to finally get one as a pet. I want to really research every aspect of having a pet snake before I jump into owning one. I figured the best way to learn would be talking with people who have snakes as pets. I've gotten so much contradicting advice that I am now really confused!

Most of the info I've found on the web seems to be geared towards the larger snakes like boas. And I just want a nice relatively small snake that won't die as I'm learning. I've talked to people in 5 different pet stores and got 6 different stories. One place told me to get a garter snake they stay small and all you have to do to feed them is put a gold fish in their water bowl. another place also recommended the garter snake but that they at crickets and earth worms. and still another pet store said no garter snakes do not do well in captivity and wont eat. he recommended a boa but those eat rats which is why I know I don't want one of them (I have pet rats I just couldn't do that!) I just want something that will stay little enough to eat small preferably already dead things. And that likes to be held.