PDA

View Full Version : Still pretty New

Still pretty New

nova1
12-09-2005, 06:26 PM
Hi there and Happy Holidays. :santa:

I got into corn snakes late this summer, and already have 7. I live in a smallish town that doesn't really cater to reptiles, so the internet has been my source for information. I'm 27 years old and do Croissant Quality Control for General Mills. People at work are aghast when they find out I have snakes!

Well, being as I'm new to this, I need some help. I was sold a normal hatchling who is now 26" long and doesn't look like any of the other normals I've seen. She's got no white and no red, she's yellow and redish brown with little black. I was told the "mom was het amale and the father was amaly"(copied from the sale add, spelling included). So far, no one has been able to help me.

I've attached some pictures of her. Is she a normal normal? Hello and thanks for helping in the past with info and hopefully help now.
Heather

SnakeAround
12-10-2005, 08:51 AM
I think you're rigth she does look a little weird.... I pay caution to be not considered a 'hybrid paranoid', but because she is from a pet shop that doesn't even know how to spell out amel(anistic) I wouldn't be surprised if this snakie is a little 'junglish' aka has a king snake in her parental lines somewhere... especially 'cause the saddles are a little weird too. she looks a lot like the one on this pic, advertised as a jungle.

SnakeAround
12-10-2005, 09:02 AM
By the way, if it's het amel, there's a possibility to breed awesome amelanistic jungles!

zwyatt
12-10-2005, 12:17 PM
The saddles do look kind of jungle-ish, almost sort of banded. They look a lot like the saddles to the right side of this pic if you disregard the zig-zagging. http://redtailboa.net/pp/data/3420/medium/Butter_and_babies_018.jpg