PDA

View Full Version : Corn Snake Shedding and Mite Issues

Corn Snake Shedding and Mite Issues

snakeamateur209
02-19-2006, 02:40 AM
I just got my corn snake 2 weeks ago. He's been hiding constantly since I got him, but I figure it's because he's in a new environment, and because it's his nature. Anyway, today, I was looking at him from under the tank, and I saw a little black dot crawling on him. So, immediately i thought MITES! I haven't been able to handle him since I got him because at first, he still had his meal inside. Then, right after that, he started shedding. So, I haven't been able to observe him up close. I am COMPLETELY new to snakes, so I have no idea what to do. He has been shedding for about a week now, and the only thing that has come off is his head skin. I put shed aid on yesterday, but he stays in one place for so long, he'll probably never get the skin off. Basically, I just need to know what to do about the mites, and the shedding. (a few days ago, i tried to soak him to help his shedding, but he almost drowned, so i don't want to try that again; i'm assuming i put way too much water in). thank all who reply, in advance.

Lennycorn
02-19-2006, 08:11 AM
I you scroll down on this page, you will see other treads on the topic. Just click away.

Good Luck :cheers:

KatieL
02-19-2006, 08:43 AM
Hi Snakeamateur,

The mites problem is awful, but definitely fixable. My first little girly had mites pretty bad when I got her. My preferred technique is outlined in this thread:

http://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19015

I use this on ALL my snakes, both at home and at work, and have used it on hatchlings (of many species) with absolutely no side effects (which I consider a very good thing). My snakes all get treated twice a year with this technique, and I've had nothing but success. :)