PDA

View Full Version : Feeding,

Feeding,

gnarhimself
03-20-2006, 02:48 AM
My new corn (Snow Motley) hasnt eaten in two weeks (since i got her),i have checked the temperature and there is a hide box for her,she doesnt share an enclosure with any other snake.
I have tried feeding here small pinkies (LiVE),she smells them and turns away.
This is the second week in a row and im getting a little worried,someone suggested "braining" a pinky and trying that,as this is apparently a very successful method to get non-feeders to eat.
I am TRYING THIS TONIGHT

Is there anyone who can confirm this "feeding" method,with a success rate.This is my first corn that has ever had problems feeding..

Any suggestions or assistance would be greatly appreciated
:shrugs:

Firefly
03-20-2006, 02:58 AM
I had this problem with one of my corns and I found that if I put him in a small container he would eventually eat (coolwhip container). But I'm not an expert. I've only had four corns.

gnarhimself
03-20-2006, 03:03 AM
Hi Firefly
Did ur snake take long to eat...
I also only have 4 corns

diamondlil
03-20-2006, 03:05 AM
I'm no expert either, I've got 4 corns with no feeding issues, but my snow is very difficult. I tred the braining, as well as tuna scenting, chick leg, and she hasn't fed since January, and I'm waiting for a live pinky to try. someone posted in another thread that snakes refuse to eat just so we worry! Good luck

gnarhimself
03-20-2006, 03:11 AM
Im gonna try the tuna scenting thing first,and then if that doesnt work,im gonna do the braining thing..
Its the 1st time ive had a corn thats so tempremental...
:twoguns:

Firefly
03-20-2006, 03:12 AM
I had never heard of the braining thing till a few months ago. I don't have four corns now, just one. I had two, but my pink one died (unknown causes). He was the one that I always had trouble feeding. He didn't take too long. Anywhere between 10-30 mins. The girl I have now is a pig :laugh: so i have no trouble feeding her..lol