PDA

View Full Version : Questions about feeding techniques.

Questions about feeding techniques.

erisan
04-05-2006, 11:40 PM
I'm new to snake scene and I'm wondering how/where I should feed my snake. I feed him f/t to make sure there's no chance of injury although right now he's eating pinks so there's nothing to worry about. Should I feed him in a different container? I've heard that there is a risk of impaction if you feed them in a viv with substrate in it. But I feed him using tongs to dangle the mouse in front of him instead of laying it on the ground so I'm pretty sure he won't get any of the eco earth in his mouth. I've also heard that they can get used to food being offered in their viv and will bite anything that comes into the cage.

So basically should I feed him in a seperate container or is it OK to continue feeding him in his regular enclosure? I'm leaning towards feeding him in a different container because then he'll know when it's feeding time but I'm afraid that when I move him to his regular viv to begin digesting I might cause him to regurgitate, so if I do start feeding him like that how would I go about transferring him back to his cage without a regurge?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance!!! :D

erisan
04-05-2006, 11:43 PM
Uh oh I think this belongs in husbandry and basic care since it's not really a feeding problem per se. Oh well close enough.

DaemoNox
04-05-2006, 11:50 PM