PDA

View Full Version : What to do?

What to do?

Joejr14
06-29-2006, 01:54 PM
Basically I'm looking for opinions on this....either euthanize, or keep trying.

I got this lavender male last year, and the snake simply doesn't grow. The original ID on the deli cup said 2002, which I didn't realize until later---and that's having the biggest impact on my decision right now.

The snake is 40-50grams, and I really don't think it's done much growing in the year that I've had it. I've been feeding it fuzzies from TMF for about 2 months in an attempt for the thing to put on weight, but....it keeps upchucking food. IMO, a 45gram snake shouldn't have problems eating a 6-7 gram fuzzy. When it finally does keep a meal down, it occasionally appears to get 'backed up' and then will proceed to crap out a big wad of spiraled hair.

It's pretty obvious that this snake has zero business breeding, and I don't want it. I have other lavenders and this is just a waste of my time. Problem is, I'm really not sure that I'm even comfortable offering this snake up for sale as 'pet only'. I'd really feel like an a-hole offering up a snake as pet only that looks like a yearling. And, I really don't have time for a snake like this---it's just not worth it to me. I have a similar case with a hypo blood, but she doesn't regurge and she's slowly making progress, so I'm a bit more willing to work with her.

So, if you were in this situation, what would you do? I suppose it's somewhat cruel to euthanize a snake that isn't dying, but I mean, what else is there to do? Pawn this thing off on someone else so they can have the same problems? I know that if I offer it for sale/giveaway as pet only, someone is going to think "I can turn that snake-around". That's my other problem---I'd rather euthanize the snake than have someone try to get it to breeding size to pass along those crappy genes.

So, opinions?

Roy Munson
06-29-2006, 02:04 PM