PDA

View Full Version : Petstore giving questionable advice

Petstore giving questionable advice

Debsi
10-15-2006, 03:32 PM
I am new to owning snakes and I have a baby cornsnake that is about 10 weeks (about 10 inches, pencil thin). The reptile store I bought her from said that they had been feeding her live pinkies and I have been trying frozen without success. I plan on giving her a live one on Monday from the reptile store. However, today at the Pet "Superstore", the reptile "trained" guy told me that baby corn snakes don't eat for the first 6 months, that they live off of the yolk! Could this possibly be true? Also, another feeding question, I've thought about trying to feed another thawed, frozen that I will "poke" the brain tonight, but want to know how long to leave her with a thawed pinkie. When does the pinkie start to decay and would be harmful for her to eat it after a certain time? Thanks for any advice and I'm sure to be posting often until I get this right.

Bobo's Mama
10-15-2006, 03:38 PM
Please don't listen to that guy! Its not true at all. The majority of corns eat for the first time after their first shed. Which is usually within a week or so of hatching. You can leave the pinkie with your corn overnight and it will be fine. Sometimes overnight is the way to go with the little ones. How long have you had the corn?

Seejay
10-15-2006, 03:40 PM
Hey there

Newborns don't need feeding until they shed their skin for the first time. Pretty much as soon as that time comes only then should they be offered a meal.