PDA

View Full Version : Breeding Morphs and Locality Specific Corns

Breeding Morphs and Locality Specific Corns

Dennis Gulla
12-14-2002, 10:51 AM
I am not a novice when it comes to genetics, however, I do get confused when it comes to breeding certain morphs and locality specific corns in an effort produce something new.
How did Don from South Mountain produce his line of Hypo Miami Corns? We know that Hypomelanism is a recessive genetic trait, but Miami Phase corns are a locale specific animal that displays a unique trait.
He obviously bred a Hypo corn to a Miami Phase corn. Wouldn't the results be intergrades het for hypomelanism? You can't have a corn be het for Miami phase right? This is where I get confused. Could someone explain this to me?

Ken Harbart
12-14-2002, 12:19 PM
Miamis, as Okeetees, aren't exactly locality specific. Quite the contrary, they names merely describe an appearance, regardless of geographic location.

Dennis Gulla
12-14-2002, 12:44 PM
Ken, could you please be a little more elaborate. Now I'm totally confused. Are you saying that if I went to the Miami/Dade County area and happened to be lucky enough to catch a wild corn, it may or may not look like the Miami Phased corns that we are accustomed to seeing?
Are the names Miami Phase and Okeetee just labels to describe snakes that were selectively bred regardless of there locality?

carol
12-14-2002, 01:08 PM
It does get confusing, there is the "Miami" locality and the Miami "Phase". Same with Okeetee. It is pretty much accepted that a Miami corn should be a clean silver, black and red animal. Not all corns caught near Miami may fit this standard and not all "Miami" Phase corns have thier heritage link back to animals from this locality. I think it is pretty common that if someone is talking about a Miami Phase, they are refering to coloration and not locality.