PDA

View Full Version : low weight...i'm concerned

low weight...i'm concerned

gordinho80
12-15-2006, 08:42 PM
hello all...i'm still new to the snake thing, my first snake was given to me by my cousin...

facts about the snake according to my cousin:
approx 2yr old...
female...
albino corn...

i took her out and measured her today...right around 3 ft(36") and UNDER 200 grams...this seems low compared to what i've read on here...

should i feed more often? my cousin was only feeding her a live adult mouse every 2 weeks...i was going to feed her that same live mouse or similar sized frozen every week...

regardless...i'm rather concerned that she has been neglected and needs some more food...

tank conditions since i've gotten here on Sunday have been constant...80deg during during...70 during night time...cool side of tank is 70 during day, 60 night...clean water every 3 days...

BeckyG
12-15-2006, 10:41 PM
hello all...i'm still new to the snake thing, my first snake was given to me by my cousin...

facts about the snake according to my cousin:
approx 2yr old...
female...
albino corn...

i took her out and measured her today...right around 3 ft(36") and UNDER 200 grams...this seems low compared to what i've read on here...

should i feed more often? my cousin was only feeding her a live adult mouse every 2 weeks...i was going to feed her that same live mouse or similar sized frozen every week...

I would. I feed my two year olds every 7-10 days.

TheHated
12-15-2006, 10:47 PM
Not to be mean but you might consider switching it to frozen thawed. Live mice can inflict nasty wounds. Look it up. Not pretty :sidestep:

gordinho80
12-15-2006, 11:17 PM
Not to be mean but you might consider switching it to frozen thawed. Live mice can inflict nasty wounds. Look it up. Not pretty :sidestep:
yeah, i was gonna start frozen mice...i'm going to do a slightly smaller frozen mouse every week...sound good?

Joejr14
12-15-2006, 11:24 PM