PDA

View Full Version : two new snakes

two new snakes

sneakysnake
12-17-2006, 10:33 PM
i am new at this snake thing i have two corn snakes one is a snow corn and other candy cane but when they eat they dont constrict them they just swollow them is that normal they are about a foot long dont know the age

DaemoNox
12-17-2006, 10:37 PM
Its normal; snakes prefer to save energy whenever the can, and they know pinks arnt going to run away or harm them so they dont need to constrict. Often with thawed food of any size they wont constrict, but once you start wiggling the mouse while the snake has it it will coil around it right away; constriction is a natural instinct.

BeckyG
12-18-2006, 05:18 PM
I agree. Only one of my corns will constrict at all, and he only does it when I wiggle the mouse.

Roy Munson
12-18-2006, 06:16 PM
Yeah, very few of mine constrict f/t regularly. But sometimes I'll feed a snake that rarely (or never) has constricted, and I'll bump the feeding tub by mistake after the snake's taken notice of the mouse, and they'll wrap it all up. I like it when that happens. Seems more natural than the lazy old nudge and swallow routine. :)

TheHated
12-18-2006, 06:58 PM
Strange.. Mine loves to constrict. But after the first mouse she eats like a pig :eek1:

MegF.
12-18-2006, 08:43 PM
I have a couple now who don't constrict. My one baby once he started really gets into it. He turns into a tiny ball wrapped around a fuzzy!

Lennycorn
12-18-2006, 09:00 PM
My butter doesn't constrict and all, not one bit.
But my amel...well that snake constrict the crap out of a f/t.
I think it has an attitude since it found out nobody likes amels anymore. :sidestep:

Roy Munson
12-18-2006, 09:24 PM
I think it has an attitude since it found out nobody likes amels anymore. :sidestep::roflmao: That's just not true, man. I like amels... charcoal amels, lavender amels, diffused amels, caramel amels... :grin01:

MegF.
12-18-2006, 09:33 PM