PDA

View Full Version : Food Discussion

Food Discussion

Jaxom
01-15-2003, 07:04 PM
Hello everyone.

Being that im new to the snake deal i have a question for all of you whom have more experience than I. My cute little Ghost Corn is 9inches long, and very small in terms of body width. The pet shop I got it from was feeding it crickets because its not big enough to get a pinky down. I saw a day old pinky and it was twice the size of the snake roughly. Is it ok to keep feeding it crickets, or should i go search for some lizards? (The pet store I got him from "Animal House" dosent seem to cary them.) Should i try and feed him a pinky despite the size? Im really vexed on this.

Thnx for the advice in advanced.

"There is no knowledge that is not power."

bmm
01-15-2003, 07:35 PM
For one, even the smallest cornsnake can eat day old pinkies from birth. There is no need to ever, and I mean ever, fed it circkets. They do not do well on insects and all babies can eat pinkies. I would seriously stop feeding the crickets like yesterday and get yourself a pinkie.

I know it looks to big but please trust me, its not. 9 inches, even 7 inches is not to small for pinkies. Ask for day old pinkies. No corn should be started or fed crickets. Some can be given only pinkie heads, but at 9 inches there should be zero problem with a whole pinkie. Mine were all eating whole pinkies at that time, and right now I have a 8 inch milksnake doing the same.

Pet stores are terrible places for info, and I feel sad for the other corns they might be feeding crickets too. Good luck though!

bmm

Jaxom
01-15-2003, 10:51 PM
:) Thnx alot bmm for your info=) I'll see if it will eat a pinky. *trusts* I just want the best for my Ghost and i was wondering about the crickets... Thnx again and if anyone else has anything to add please do. Im all ears!! (^..^)
:D

Jaxom
"There is no knoweldge that is not power."

dartguy
01-16-2003, 02:09 AM