PDA

View Full Version : Tongue problem ?

Tongue problem ?

idlehands
07-07-2007, 09:24 PM
Hi this might seem like a strange question but my 06 cornsnake seems to have a problem with his tongue? I can see a sort of pulsing under his chin, but there is definatley no tongue flicking out? He has always been like this, and seems perfectley healthy otherwise. Just wondered if anyone else had seen this before, or had any ideas what could be wrong? Thanks

tracy0416
07-07-2007, 10:01 PM
Does he not even flick when he is given a pinkie/prey item?

My 14" 11 month old corn Jo has NO pulsing thing but I am new to the whole world of snakes. It will be interesting to see what the experts here say about this though.

idlehands
07-07-2007, 10:31 PM
No he never flicks his tongue at all (it`s really strange). He has never missed a meal, but when i offer mice to him it seems to take him quite a while to work out what it is, he nudges it and pushes it round alot first.

( I used to have a black rat snake for many years by the way, so i know what the tongue flicking should look like. And there is definitely no tongue appearing , just a slight pulsing under the chin ) He`s very friendly tho.

tracy0416
07-08-2007, 12:21 AM
Awe... poor thing. I wonder if the little guy has a really short tongue or no tongue at all. If he did, the length of time you mention it takes him to figure out what things are would make sense. You know, when humans have a sensory handicap they say the other senses hieghten to compensate. I wonder/hope it's the same for snakes.

Someone here with experience will know I bet. Sorry I can't shed any light...

MegF.
07-08-2007, 07:44 AM
I've never seen a snake without a tongue or the ability to flick it, but if he's healthy and eating...I wouldn't worry about it other than the curiosity factor. If you open his mouth can you see his tongue there?

Nanci
07-08-2007, 07:53 AM