PDA

View Full Version : 4 month old not hiding, not eating

4 month old not hiding, not eating

astarte
11-07-2007, 11:13 AM
I'm new to all this. My 4 month old amel had been eating and pooping like a trooper. It shed beautifully and then things started to go sour. It ate a pinkie, then looked around for another, so we gave it to him/her. After 5 days, we had a poop, then waited another 3 days and fed another single pinkie. 2 days later it regurgitated that pinkie, and pooped again. Now it's kind of lethargic, won't eat and isn't hanging out in the hidey holes. Temps are 84 at the warm end, 74 at the cool. Bedding is aspen. Humidity is 40%. We feed it in a separate tank.
The snake is drinking, so isn't dehydrated yet. It only moves when I change the water or disturb it in some way (we're not handling it at all at the moment). Its not hiding at all - just drooping on it's side between the glass and a log on the warm end of the tank.
Any ideas?

Rich in KY
11-07-2007, 11:41 AM
This sounds serious. I would consult a herp vet right away.

zwyatt
11-07-2007, 12:01 PM
If you are really concerned than consider a trip to the vet. But you might also consider giving it a bit more time. Generally, you aren't considered to be in real trouble unless you've had two or more regurges back to back. However, you are a better judge of how uncharacteristic his behavior is, so it's ultimately a judgement call on your part.

Is he flicking his tongue at all when you put your hand near or disturb him? It may be that he's just not feeling well after regurging. It's tough to say. You can always just hang tight and after about 7-10 days (after the regurge) offer a very small meal like a pinky head and see if he holds that down. Also, you might try nutribac in his water to help replenish the good bacteria in his stomach.

astarte
11-07-2007, 12:31 PM
Thanks all,