PDA

View Full Version : which camera!?

which camera!?

SquamishSerpents
02-02-2008, 01:40 AM
now, i have been using various types of sony cybershots over the last few years. and although i don't have pictures anywhere NEAR as stunning as the ones posted here, i do have a bunch that i am proud of. however i just feel like i have outgrown my sony cybershot compact digicam, like i have used it to it's full potential, and i feel i need to move on to bigger and better things. i'll always use my trusty compact for party pictures, going out, etc. but i want to get into more complex photography.

so, cruising around on the forums, (this one, and others) i've noticed that Nikon seems to be the most popular brand of digital SLR.

i have NO previous experience whatsoever with an SLR. but i want to get one that i can learn beginner techniques on, but i want it to be good enough that i won't grow bored, and feel like i need to upgrade my camera a little bit down the line.

i've been eyeing this camera, (the Nikon D80) (http://www.1wayphoto.com/products.asp?dept_id=10267&product_id=12051). i have approxamatley $1000 that i can spend on a new camera.

and i want to get these books by scott kelby (http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Photography-Book-Scott-Kelby/dp/032147404X/ref=pd_sim_b_img_2) and also this book (http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-D80-Digital-Field-Guide/dp/0470120517/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1201933347&sr=1-1) which is specifically about the Nikon D80.

do any of you have much experience with this? would this be a good set-up for a beginner? any suggestions? is that a reasonable price for the camera?

etc, etc. i would love to know your opinions on these types of camera.

dwyn127
02-02-2008, 02:33 AM
I'm using a Nikon right now. I personally prefer Canon, but you can't go wrong with Nikon, great product.

SquamishSerpents
02-02-2008, 03:11 AM
any particular reason you prefer Canon?

ratsncorns
02-02-2008, 04:45 AM