PDA

View Full Version : My new corn snakes acting weird.......

My new corn snakes acting weird.......

rara.lou
03-04-2008, 03:16 AM
Im new to all of this but i got a new snow cornsnake on saturday and she's acting very differently from my other corn snake, first of all she's always burying herself (is this normal?) and secondly she seems so scared, we havnt handled her yet but when we go to get vidic out for handling she zooms across the otherside of the viv and curls up and she also snakes her neck at us like shes going to strike, the lady in the pet shop said she had a lovley temperament but she's making us nervous.......any help or advice...........x

cornlover221
03-04-2008, 04:04 AM
she prolly is really scared new cage new predators new everything its all pretty normal sounding to me, just give her more time itll be alright....

TWGarland
03-04-2008, 04:13 AM
Burrowing is part of a corn snakes natural behaviours

And a wee hatchling is bound to be frightened at first. You have to be confident in picking it up, do it quickly and firmly, it will settle down once its in your hands, its just the initial approach that is usually said to cause the most distress, so you want to get that bit over with quickly and get your snake into your hands where it will feel safer :)

Annihilation-
03-04-2008, 07:56 AM
Im new to all of this but i got a new snow cornsnake on saturday and she's acting very differently from my other corn snake, first of all she's always burying herself (is this normal?) and secondly she seems so scared, we havnt handled her yet but when we go to get vidic out for handling she zooms across the otherside of the viv and curls up and she also snakes her neck at us like shes going to strike, the lady in the pet shop said she had a lovley temperament but she's making us nervous.......any help or advice...........x