PDA

View Full Version : Constricting

Constricting

paullfc
03-08-2008, 02:57 PM
Not really a 'problem' but my corn never ever ever constritcs is there a way to do this or is it not neccesary for my corn to do this??

jiva
03-08-2008, 03:02 PM
Im not really an expert on this, but it seems to me it is just something that some corns do and some don't. I have two corns and one constricts every time and one has never constricted. I feed them bot the same way. Its not really necessary, but it is fun to watch.

SnakesRule1234
03-08-2008, 03:21 PM
If you feed live the non-constricting could be a problem, but this is mostly with larger mice.
If you feed f/t then it's ok.

Pasodama
03-08-2008, 03:32 PM
Constricting can be an added "exercise", for muscle tone, but ... it is not a necessity.
Especially if you are feeding f/t or p/k.

Some, of mine, constrict and others do not. No harm either way.

As far as getting them to constrict, most times a non-constricting snake will constrict if you feed it live (or what it believes to be live). Although, some, still, may not. Either way ... IMO Not worth doing if you have a f/t eating snake and, as stated above, constricting is not an absolute necessity (unless there is a need for subduing, &/or killing, live prey).

cornlover221
03-08-2008, 03:34 PM
i posted this same topic not to long ago and this is what roy munson said to me....

If the corn snake doesn't consider the prey item to be a threat or in imminent danger of escaping, it usually won't waste energy constricting. An adult corn that has always been fed f/t without constricting will definitely constrict a live adult mouse if one is is offered, if it isn't intimidated by the prey item.

Flagg
03-08-2008, 03:43 PM
You can usually get them to constrict, even with F/T, if you do the "zombie mouse dance" with a warm prey item and trick them into thinking it's alive.

Nanci
03-08-2008, 03:55 PM