PDA

View Full Version : First feeding regurg

First feeding regurg

liana_lynx
04-15-2008, 07:44 PM
First of all, hi! I'm brand new to both the forums and corn snakes. I've been doing a lot of research and am very excited to have little Banyan at home with me. Which is why I got nervous when I found something weird in the tank!

We fed him for the first time Saturday afternoon, and now Tuesday afternoon I found something that is long and pinkish with a darker center area. It doesn't smell bad, in fact I don't smell anything at all. But it certainly doesn't look like what poop is supposed to look like.

The temp did get a little high today on the warm side (about 89 when I checked it and turned it down). Also, at night we turn off the basking light and leave on the uth and a blue night bulb, so it's a little cooler at night. Is that too much temp change for the little guy?

If it's a regurg I plan on waiting about 8 days to feed again, like I've read here. And we'll also make the next meal a smaller pinkie, or half a pinkie. But do regurges ever NOT stink? Since this is our first snake and first feeding, I'm not quite sure what to expect.

Also, I live in a very dry climate and it is hard for me to keep the humidity regular. When I mist, it gets really high, then a few hours later it's too low. We're trying to keep it between 40 and 50. Thank you so much for the input!

Gralena
04-15-2008, 08:36 PM
I also experienced a hatchling that had regurge issues. Definitely follow the regurge protocol to a "t". As far as your question about the "smell", the first regurge my corn had did not smell either. I think it is because I found it pretty quickly when the snake had done it. Maybe it did not have time to start the smelly, rotting process? I have had other regurges that smelled horrible though. Good luck!

NFS07
04-16-2008, 01:56 PM