PDA

View Full Version : Kisatchie Corn Snake Pics

Kisatchie Corn Snake Pics

kellum
05-18-2002, 01:30 PM
Does anyone have any pictures of Kisatchie Corn Snakes? (other than the South Mountain image)

And are they really a guttataXemory? Rich? Serp? Clint? Pewter? or any other genetics gurus have an opinion?

Clint Boyer
05-18-2002, 01:51 PM
I don't think they are a cross, so to speak. I think they are more of a natural variation of guttata that developed over a long period of time, much like the Keys corns. I have no experience with the ranges or natural history of the areas that the Kisatchies inhabit but draw my conclusions from the writings of others that have that expertise.
With that being said, there may be an evolutionary link in the guttata line that branches off of the limb that corns and Great plains rats share. Not a cross so much, but more of a link between the two.

Ronda of Northwest herps has some pics on kingsnake.com's photo gallery of Kisatchies.

pdrau
05-18-2002, 02:22 PM
It's kistachie not kisatchie by the way. I thought kistachies were a naturally occuring color morph specifically found in Louisiana. I believe kistachie is an Louisiana "indian"/native american word, possibly a cajun word, although I don't know what it means. My father used to belong to the Kistachie Cajuns hunting/fishing club, so maybe it is cajun. Time to do some history research. Nonetheless, the morph is as far as I know a dark morph found only here. Probably more specifically to the Kistachie National Forest.

Just my two cents.

Peter

Clint Boyer
05-18-2002, 04:37 PM
I didn't think that Kisatchie was wrong, is there another place called Kistachie?
Here's a link
http://www.user.fast.net/~rnb/knf.html

pdrau
05-18-2002, 04:42 PM
It is spelled incorrectly on that site. It is Kistachie. Do a web search on Kistachie and you'll find a lot of sites about the national forest. I've lived in Louisiana all my life.

http://www.scenicpath.com/places/LA/alexandria.cfm

Clint Boyer